raster-noton. archiv für ton und nichtton : aleph | r-n087 | aleph-1 | 2 x 12" vinyl

You may not have everything you need to view certain sections of this web site.
Please install or update "Flash Player" which is available for free here.
Please also make sure you have JavaScript enabled.

If you use some kind of screenreader or other non visual browser you can get the most important informations from the list below.

r-n087 | aleph. aleph-1 | 2 x 12" vinyl

aleph-1 is a project by carsten nicolai aka alva noto / noto. aside from his sound works under those pseudonyms, aleph-1 is electronic music with an acoustic sound aesthetics that was especially developped for the IDEAL recordings label. the concept of aleph-1 derives from the theories of the mathemtician georg cantor, who was teaching in halle, germany, a city, to which nicolai is deeply connected with through his family.

the sound pieces of aleph-1 deal with the idea of infinity in terms of structure and length. without actual beginning or end, they fade in and out. the pieces have a very logically constructed nature of overlapping tracks, which seem to be never the same thus could be extended into infinity. the album consists of eight rhythmic circles, based upon acoustic material, at first sight very minimal but always carrying pulse and melody. music you can loose yourself in.

for a deeper knowledge of the term aleph-1, here’s a short definition:
1884 the term alpeh-1 was introduced by georg cantor into the mathematical world. since then the first letter of the hebrew alphabet, combined with a number has been used to represent the cardinality (or size) of infinite sets. the aleph numbers differ from infinity (∞) commonly found in algebra and calculus. alephs measure the sizes of sets; infinity on the other hand, is commonly defined as an extreme limit of the real number line, or an extremal point of the extended real number line. while some alephs are larger than others, ∞ is just ∞.

aleph-1 is 2 x 12“ vinyl and was released on ideal recordings. as we are only re-seller we can not offer digital download for this release.

release date: 2009-07-16

media: 2 x 12" vinyl

label: ideal recordings

image 1: aleph | r-n087 | aleph-1 | 2 x 12


1 CA a 01x | 07:46
1 CA b 05 | 02:24
1 CA c 08.2.2 | 07:56
1 CA d 04 | 03:36
1 CA e 02 | 08:50
1 CA f 0.2n 1 | 05:36
1 CA g 08.4s | 08:55
1 CA h 09 | 03:40